Has anyone else noticed all the fun twists on everyday language Twitter is fueling? How many variations on Twitter do we use now, and even better, how many more can you come up with? Cleese’s confessional includes what is by far my favorite modification on the word.
[update: i just saw “tweeps” here]

But besides verbing it up with the word “tweeting”, I’ve noticed people choosing to start their “tweets” (when will it be time to drop the quotes?) in mainly two ways: as a standard sentence, or as a direct response to the question “What are you doing?”

I kind of like the latter choice. I think sticking to the direct-answer format forces creativity through confinement. Does that make sense to anyone but me? I think it forces users to think about and chose their verbs more carefully, and I think that process is the key to more eloquent speech, and a practice that I encourage. Strengthen your nouns and verbs, I would coach, in a hypothetical English coaching instance. Be descriptive without relying on adjectives! What fun! Thing is, posting in that manner leaves a subordinate clause blowing in the wwwind…

No one really knows what Twitter is, and no one can really say, or has the right to say, how it should and shouldn’t be used. It’s just so damn interesting to see what people are doing with their sentences, when all they have to produce them is 140 characters! There are the direct-answer people, the advertisers, the single word people, and then there’s people like the Mime (who does not amuse me btw). If you have preferences, observations, or ideas, let me know!

June 19: article on “things” that Twitter

